Read, receive, believe – in Jesus of Nazareth, the Word of God

Lately I have been impressed by the Holy Spirit of Truth to witness to my family. Some background on this. I’ve always been a sincere follower of Jesus Christ, though my walk has been far from consistent over the years. During one of my walks, and due to this inconsistency, my family did not believe that I was speaking the truth when I witnessed their need to be saved by Jesus of Nazareth, the Word of God. Instead they called the mental health services, who then followed up with me like bulldogs – to my great consternation – for the next few weeks. I have had issues ever since trying to prove that my faith is genuine to close family members.

Interestingly, I have read that sometimes the last people saved Christians witness to is indeed close family members. I wonder why this is so. Why do we feel it is easier and perhaps less burdensome to open our hearts to strangers, risking ridicule and rejection, than to stand in the gap for unsaved souls we share genetics and a long history with (see Ezekiel 13:5 and 22:30)? Surely it should be easiest for us to reach out to people we have loved since childhood as we are more likely to know the paths to their hearts? Yet so often we fail to do so, and I have been guilty myself of shrinking back when faced with God’s clear edict to “teach all nations” (Matthew 8:19), beginning with my family.

In the last week or so I have been impressed by God to overcome my reluctance to reach out to family with the gospel of Jesus Christ. I’ve responded by sending each household a King James bible, with a Chick gospel tract inserted neatly where Psalm 119 (extolling the virtues of the Word of God as our basis for faith) is located. I’ve also made an effort to extend myself in becoming more a part of my family’s lives on an ongoing basis, which I previously neglected to do as many of them live quite far away. I have yet to develop the “fruit of the Spirit” (Galatians 5:22-23, Ephesians 5:9) that God calls us to exhibit but I hope that when I do my family might one day see Christ in me and be encouraged.

Yesterday, however, I struck an issue. I could not for the life of me remember my aunt’s home address and when I searched the White Pages online, I found her phone number was not listed. Then, to my astonishment and delight, a wonderful thing happened. Her street name and number were quite clearly and authoritatively impressed upon my mind…when I checked later with my sister, I found that what I had been given spiritually was utterly true and correct. This gave me incredible encouragement to keep going with my commitment to witness to my aunt and her friend, as I’d previously felt a strange, fleshly reluctance to do so. It was clear that God was 100% behind my efforts to spread the gospel to all my family members, particularly my aunt’s household.

The above was the first little miracle and “assistance from above” that I received yesterday. More was to follow. After I mailed out bibles to three separate family households I spent some time in our front garden, painstakingly pulling up weeds. As I did so, the following three words were impressed on my mind concerning bringing people to faith: read, receive, believe. When I pondered these words in my heart over the next day or so, I found – again, to my delight and wonder – that they dovetailed neatly with three phrases God gave me when writing the article “Fighting demons with God’s love” on this site (see https://aeon01.wordpress.com/2016/04/01/fighting-demons-with-gods-love/). The two categories of words formed an interesting spiritual pattern which I will explain here for your edification.

1. Read – the Word of God…which is true (fits with “God is true”).
2. Receive – the Spirit of Truth…which is given in love (fits with “God is love”).
3. Believe – in Jesus of Nazareth…who is the Son of God (fits with “God is faith”).

I hope the above encourages you in your faith walk with the Lord Jesus, the Son of God. It certainly did me, as, like all Christians, I have moments of doubt and discouragement. May we all come to the realization today that we are true children of God, that we are really saved and going to heaven, where we will see God and those we have loved (and witnessed to) on earth.

God bless you.
Naomi

Leave a Reply

