Fighting demons with God’s love

Dear friends,

It’s been a long time since I made a post online but today’s article was too important not to share. There are many followers of Jesus who are engaged in spiritual struggle with the enemies of their souls, Satan and his evil hordes. Whether this struggle is unconscious or rather more blatant (and it’s the latter that really concerns me), I wanted to share some beautiful insights from God that have helped me.

I am a sincere follower of Jesus of Nazareth yet I suffer from demonic attacks. I wrote about these first on the “About” page of this blog, yet recently the intensity of the attacks has increased as I’ve come to faith in Jesus again, rather than decreased. I now not only feel invisible hands attacking my body, but hear evil male voices telling my mind negative things such as that I am not saved and God has finished with me. Last night they said that they could take my soul if I didn’t believe that Jesus of Nazareth was the Son of God and had saved me. They then induced a spirit of unbelief over my mind and heart such that – after I fell under it due to weakness and sin – I could no longer feel the conviction of my saving faith in Christ. The results were very frightening: I kept clinging to my belief in Jesus as “the way, the truth and the life” (John 14:6), and the only way for sinful humanity to be reconciled to God the Father. Yet the demons insisted that God the Father, the Holy Ghost, and Jesus of Nazareth in particular do not exist, that sin is a myth, and that practically everyone I knew was headed to a heaven different from mine because they had learned to love better than I had.

I fought for hours praying to Jesus of Nazareth, clinging to Him tenaciously as much as I could (which the demons interpreted, correctly I believe, as Him refusing to let me go), until my faith returned and I felt in my heart that Jesus was once again my Lord. I felt in my heart that I knew Him once more as the Son of God and my Saviour. At this point I was lying in bed trying to sleep when the demons told me I was “blessed” because most times people who were in unbelief such as I had been were not allowed to continue having faith. The demons then told me that they were sick of me and my faith and had petitioned God to send me to heaven early, within the next few weeks, by tormenting me so grievously that my husband and family would call the CAT team and get rid of me.

From the above we can learn that demons are merciless persecutors and they can quite literally cause a person to fear so much for their soul (and the souls of their loved ones) that it drives out love for God and others. As it is written, demons do not come to sincere Christians to entertain them or befriend them, they come to destroy them spiritually and must be resisted with everything we’ve got:

The thief cometh not, but for to steal, and to kill, and to destroy: I am come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly. (John 10:10)

Submit yourselves therefore to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you. (James 4:7)

I thought this morning that what my demons are trying to do is to make me lose hope in God, to stop me praying in faith to Him. And our faith in God is strengthened by our love and trust in Him. Again, as it is written:

There is no fear in love; but perfect love casteth out fear: because fear hath torment. He that feareth is not made perfect in love. (1 John 4:18)

The demons really fear faithful prayer from believers because it brings God’s power to earth, where they reside. So we must do all we can to shore up our love and trust for God, which then overflows to others, when we feel that we are under attack from evil spirits.

Today I prayed for God to send me love in my heart and uplifting scripture passages or encouragements from the Spirit of Truth to ensure that I know I am a child of God. He mercifully sent the following three passages that I wanted to share with you today:

  1. God is true
  2. God is love
  3. God is faith

So we see that once our first step of faith is taken (a supernatural knowing that God is true), we can then ponder the fact that God is perfect love, the most perfect kind of sacrificial love we can imagine. The life of Jesus of Nazareth, who left His glory and came to earth as an ordinary man to die on a cross and save us, exemplifies the latter. Thankfully, because Jesus was also God, as well as an ordinary man, we can move to the third step, that of putting our complete trust and faith in Him. So the truth about God leads to loving Him and putting our faith in Him to catch us when we fall spiritually, and save to the uttermost those who come unto God by Him. As it is written:

Wherefore he is able also to save them to the uttermost that come unto God by him, seeing he ever liveth to make intercession for them. (Hebrews 7:25)

It is also encouraging to remember that the reason we know all of the three points above (God being true, God being love and God bringing us to faith) is because He is always the initiator in our relationship with Him. He never waits for us to “get it right” and approach Him first, He makes sure we are safe with Him by doing this for us. Again, scripture bears out this truth:

We love him, because he first loved us. (1 John 4:19)

I hope this helps others who may be suffering from demonic attacks and are unsure how to combat them. We know also that demons can be cast out in the name of Jesus of Nazareth, as per the below:

And this did she many days. But Paul, being grieved, turned and said to the spirit, I command thee in the name of Jesus Christ to come out of her. And he came out the same hour. (Acts 16:18)

Yet sometimes faith alone in Jesus of Nazareth needs to be strengthened for demonic deliverance to be successful. Prayer and fasting are the keys, as per the below:

But as for me, when they were sick, my clothing was sackcloth: I humbled my soul with fasting; and my prayer returned into mine own bosom. (Psalm 35:13)

And I set my face unto the Lord God, to seek by prayer and supplications, with fasting, and sackcloth, and ashes: (Daniel 9:3)

And he said unto them, This kind can come forth by nothing, but by prayer and fasting. (Mark 9:29)

If your church does not genuinely deliver people from demons, if they do not regularly fast and pray to combat evil spirits with strong faith in the Lord, you must do all in your power to move them to do so. Zeal is catching: be the kind of spiritual change you want to see in your church and in the world. Start with yourself first and reach out to other believers. Love your church, pray for them, and pray especially for those in the church who have the rule over you, they need your assistance in every way spiritually. And we know that most every Christian church will have at least “two or three” true believers in Jesus (oftentimes more – as per Matthew 18:20) meaning that it is part of the body of Christ (1 Corinthians 12:12, Colossians 1:24).

I wait to stand corrected on this but I have not seen one scriptural example of a person doing self-deliverance. So I have come to the conclusion that other believers must deliver, in Jesus’ name, those who are vexed or possessed with devils. I continue to pray that someone will be sent into my life who can do this for me. A true believer in Christ who is strong in faith and power, as Stephen was. Or that God will bless a follower of Jesus who maybe isn’t that strong in faith but wants to help the demon-afflicted from their heart.

Never feel that you are alone if you are reading this and suffering from evil entities. You can always talk here, in the comments below, and we can pray for each other to be upheld by God’s great mercy, love and grace until we are delivered.

May the grace of the Lord Jesus Christ be with you all.

Love your friend in Christ,
Naomi

18 thoughts on “Fighting demons with God’s love

  1. Your request has been made known, “I continue to pray that someone will be sent into my life who can do this for me.” I have prayed for you through the authority given by Jesus.

    “Most assuredly, I say to you, he who believes in Me, the works that I do he will do also; and greater works than these he will do, because I go to My Father. And whatever you ask in My name, that I will do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son. If you ask anything in My name, I will do it.” (John 14:12-14)

    Just as the Centurion knew Jesus could heal his servant.

    Therefore I did not even think myself worthy to come to You. But say the word, and my servant will be healed. For I also am a man placed under authority, having soldiers under me. And I say to one, ‘Go,’ and he goes; and to another, ‘Come,’ and he comes; and to my servant, ‘Do this,’ and he does it.” When Jesus heard these things, He marveled at him, and turned around and said to the crowd that followed Him, “I say to you, I have not found such great faith, not even in Israel!” And those who were sent, returning to the house, found the servant well who had been sick. (Luke 7:7-10)

    You are free! BELIEVE!

      • Naomi, I apologize for contacting you this way but I could not find any sort of email to get a hold of you with.

        I have read your article about Tim Spiess and was hoping I could discuss some information with you. I currently have family that are thinking of going to him and am concerned, if you could contact me I would greatly appreciate it.

      • Hi Naomi

        I fear, Sister that I do not find it edifying. I find it disturbing that you feel this way, and I grieve for you.

        You have made the conditions for your salvation so difficult that no one can meet them. You and I have discussed this, perhaps you should check the last e mail we exchanged about this for my feelings.

        Meanwhile, Eliza has shared some true words of wisdom in her comment from April 20th, and I really would not add a thing to that.

        If you have repented of your sin, and believed on the Lord Jesus Christ, you were and remain quite saved.

        I will pray that through prayer and the power of the Holy Spirit that you work this unfortunate situation out.

      • Hi Wally,

        Can you raise the dead, lay hands on the sick so they recover, drink deadly things and not die? These signs as per Mark 16:17-20 are meant to accompany saving faith in Jesus. If someone cannot do this (I know I cannot) then they have never fully repented of their sins in their heart before Jesus of Nazareth and are not saved.

        It’s just that simple. Sorry to be so direct but today could be your last day on earth and I wanted to ensure you are safe in Jesus.

        Naomi

  2. Dear Naomi,
    What a blessing to see you back again. My beloved sister, since the Holy Spirit indwells you, you, nor any other genuine believer in Christ Jesus, can be indwelt by demons. They can oppress us, but they can’t possess us. You will note in the Scriptures that there is not a reference given for delivering believers from demonic possession. What you will note is that we are commanded to submit to God resist the devil and he will flee from us, as well as, we must resist him standing firm in the faith because our brethren throughout the world also experience these same struggles.

    Do ye think that the scripture saith in vain, The spirit that dwelleth in us lusteth to envy? (6) But he giveth more grace. Wherefore he saith, God resisteth the proud, but giveth grace unto the humble. (7) Submit yourselves therefore to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you. (8) Draw nigh to God, and he will draw nigh to you. Cleanse your hands, ye sinners; and purify your hearts, ye double minded. (9) Be afflicted, and mourn, and weep: let your laughter be turned to mourning, and your joy to heaviness. (10) Humble yourselves in the sight of the Lord, and he shall lift you up. James 4:5-10

    Humble yourselves therefore under the mighty hand of God, that he may exalt you in due time: (7) Casting all your care upon him; for he careth for you. (8) Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil, as a roaring lion, walketh about, seeking whom he may devour: (9) Whom resist stedfast in the faith, knowing that the same afflictions are accomplished in your brethren that are in the world. (10) But the God of all grace, who hath called us unto his eternal glory by Christ Jesus, after that ye have suffered a while, make you perfect, stablish, strengthen, settle you. (11) To him be glory and dominion for ever and ever. Amen. 1Peter 5:6-11

    And every spirit that confesseth not that Jesus Christ is come in the flesh is not of God: and this is that spirit of antichrist, whereof ye have heard that it should come; and even now already is it in the world. (4) Ye are of God, little children, and have overcome them: because greater is he that is in you, than he that is in the world. (5) They are of the world: therefore speak they of the world, and the world heareth them. (6) We are of God: he that knoweth God heareth us; he that is not of God heareth not us. Hereby know we the spirit of truth, and the spirit of error. 1John 4:3-6

    The Holy Spirit Who indwells us led you to renounce the lies of satan and to hold fast to the truth of the Scripture. However, you have believed the lie that you have demons. If you truly believe in Jesus Christ then you don’t and you can’t, but the clever demons have their way of attacking us so we might believe that to be the case. In any case, when we are attacked by the enemy, we must resist him, steadfast in the faith, cling to the Father and our Savior Jesus Christ, rely upon the truth of the Holy Scriptures, and allow the Holy Spirit to minister to our hearts and minds His glorious truth. All of this you have done. Keep doing this and according to the promise the enemy will flee from you. If you have any sin, confess and repent and the Lord will strengthen and refresh you.

    One other thing, the modern diet plays havoc with the brain with all of the sugar, chemicals, and deceptive food. Make sure that you are eating well, sleeping well, and getting exercise and fresh air. We are vulnerable when we don’t take care of ourselves. I have and will pray for you dear sister. I know a woman who changed her diet and had great results with her thinking.

    One last thing, I have seen immense damage wrought in the lives of those who believed that genuine believers can be possessed, or demonized. This belief contradicts the Bible and assumes demonic power over you that doesn’t exist. The enemy of your soul wants you cowering before him, God Almighty watches out for you and will not allow you to be tempted above what you are able to endure.

    I hope this has been an encouragement to you. May Christ richly bless you with His peace, presence and protection. Amen!

Leave a Reply

