Why I follow Jesus

You ask why I follow this Jesus?
Why I love Him the way I do?
When the world’s turned away from His teachings
And the people who serve Him are few.

It’s not the rewards I’m after
Or gifts that I hope to receive
It’s the Presence that calls for commitment
It’s the Spirit I trust and believe.

The Lord doesn’t shelter His faithful
Or spare them all suffering and pain,
Like everyone else I have burdens,
And walk through my share of rain.

Yet He gives me a plan and a purpose,
And that joy only Christians have known,
I never know what comes tomorrow,
But I do know I’m never alone.

It’s the love always there when you need it;
It’s the words that redeem and inspire,
It’s the longing to ever be with Him
That burns in my heart like a fire.

So you ask why I love my Lord Jesus?
Well, friend, that’s so easy to see,
But the one thing that fills me with wonder is
Why Jesus loves someone like me.

(Author unknown)

13 thoughts on “Why I follow Jesus

  1. Beautiful Naomi, I loved it and yes Jesus Loved us first and He now calls us His friends, His plans for us are very good but as you shared, life happens and sometimes we suffer but yes as you also said, we don’t go through the Storms alone, He is always with us helping us to endure, strengthening us and reassuring us that He is very close, we are unique and precious to Him, He knows us by name.

    Isaiah 43:1-3 – Do not be afraid, for I have ransomed you. I have called you by name; you are mine. When you go through deep waters and great trouble, I will be with you. When you go through rivers of difficulty, you will not drown! When you walk through the fire of oppression, you will not be burned up; the flames will not consume you. For I am the LORD, your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Saviour.”

    Jeremiah 29 :11-12 For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the LORD, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.

    Lamentations 3: 33 For God doth not afflict willingly nor grieve the children of men.

    Christian Love Always in Christ Jesus – Anne

    • Thanks Anne for your encouraging comment and helpful scriptures. I only wish I knew who the author of this poem was so I could credit them. It resonated with me so I thought I’d put it on my blog to share with others.

      • Like you have Naomi I often Post other peoples Stories etc and mostly I don’t know who the Author is either but God does and that’s why we are sharing it because it touched our heart and gave us Hope and assurance of His Love but we still need to be sure that whatever we share that they are confirmed in Scripture.

        Thanks again for sharing this beautiful Poem, sorry I didn’t notice “Author unknown”

        Blessings- Anne

Leave a Reply

