A Work Prayer

A few days ago I felt anxious about taking over my boss’s role while she is away over Christmas. I was wanting to ensure that if I said “yes” to my company, I was remaining in the Lord’s will and not doing things in my own (limited) strength. I feared being asked to take on responsibilities above my ability to manage.

So I posted up prayer requests at National Prayer Bank (which is USA-based) and the Australian version of this site too. A kind man called Roy got back to me from the Australian site and recommended some helpful Christian links. One of the links recommended was http://ydyc.org/.

While searching on this site I came across a lovely work prayer that gave me hope. I’ve posted it near my desk for inspiration and wanted to share it with others. Here it is:

Thank you, Heavenly Father, for supplying my needs today from your abundant resources.

Thank you for freely giving me your peace, in exchange for anxiety. Your love, in exchange for fear. Your joy, in exchange for heaviness. Your faith, in exchange for doubt. Your strength, in exchange for weariness.

Lord Jesus, your Word tells me that the same Spirit that raised you from the dead dwells in me. I need your power to help me to be in the world, but not of the world.

I yield myself to you and ask the Holy Spirit to enable me to be efficient, creative and honest. Help me to work today with integrity, diligence, self-control, faithfulness and forgiveness.

Your Word also declares that, if I lack wisdom, I can ask you and you will give it generously. I need your wisdom today, Lord Jesus, to enable me to make correct choices.

In the Name of Jesus I forbid the enemy’s schemes that would rob me of productive time by attacking me emotionally, mentally, physically or financially and claim your protection in every area of my life.

Help me to sow seeds of life, bringing encouragement and edification to those I meet. Thank you, Lord Jesus, for opening opportunities to share your love today.

Helpful scripture resources:

Jeremiah 32:17:
“Ah Lord God! behold, thou hast made the heaven and the earth by thy great power and stretched out arm, and there is nothing too hard for thee…”

Daniel 11:32:
“And such as do wickedly against the covenant shall he corrupt by flatteries: but the people that do know their God shall be strong, and do exploits.”

Hebrews 10:19:
“Having therefore, brethren, boldness to enter into the holiest by the blood of Jesus…”

Philippians 4:19:
“But my God shall supply all your need according to his riches in glory by Christ Jesus.”

Romans 8:11:
“But if the Spirit of him that raised up Jesus from the dead dwell in you, he that raised up Christ from the dead shall also quicken your mortal bodies by his Spirit that dwelleth in you”

1 John 2:15:
“Love not the world, neither the things that are in the world. If any man love the world, the love of the Father is not in him.”

James 1:5:
“If any of you lack wisdom, let him ask of God, that giveth to all men liberally, and upbraideth not; and it shall be given him.”

2 Corinthians 10:4-5:
“(for the weapons of our warfare are not carnal, but mighty through God to the pulling down of strong holds;) 5 casting down imaginations, and every high thing that exalteth itself against the knowledge of God, and bringing into captivity every thought to the obedience of Christ;”

Ephesians 3:20:
“Now unto him that is able to do exceeding abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that worketh in us…”

I trust you found the work prayer helpful.

As a postscript to this article, I was so encouraged when the Lord answered my prayers very promptly and gave me grace in my boss’s eyes. Several kind people posted up encouragements on National Prayer Bank (USA site), saying they were praying for me.

I then had a meeting with my boss (shortly after posting up my prayers online) that was very reassuring. She listed down all the tasks I will be responsible for while she is away and I saw that this was – thankfully – fair and manageable. Praise God! With God, all things are possible (Matthew 19:26).

Until next time, Lord willing.

Leave a Reply

