A person of prayer

Peaceful scene Months ago, Pastor Frank  said we should say to ourselves, “By the grace of God I will be a person of prayer.” At the time I knew my prayer life was sadly lacking but the Lord has since helped me to grow in this area and to see prayer as an essential work of faith. Prayer is in fact part of the Great Commission Jesus gave us in the book of Matthew:

“Go ye therefore, and teach all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost: teaching them to observe all things whatsoever I have commanded you: and, lo, I am with you alway, even unto the end of the world. Amen.” (Matthew 28:19-21)

Prayer is a way of believing people cooperating with God’s will to draw as many people as possible to salvation. Without the love and support of fellow Christians, however, I wouldn’t be growing at all in this area. I have found National Prayer Bank, a place where believers in Christ can pray for others and post up their own prayer requests, to be invaluable in this regard. The messages of encouragement and prayer that I have received from others have been a great source of comfort, especially when ministering to and praying for unsaved loved ones. Here then for your benefit is the link to this prayer site: http://nationalprayerbank.com/ Another wonderful site featuring Spirit-lead prayers for others is the Acts 12 Movement site, which I first heard about from a fellow Christian blogger, Levi Thetford (http://levithetford.com/): http://acts12movement.com/ May you find these sites a blessing too. What prayer resources or techniques have you found helpful in your Christian walk? Feel free to post about them here. Until next time, Lord willing.

5 thoughts on “A person of prayer

  1. Hi, Naomi! I’m reminded of this for us. Paul begins by commanding us to be strong in the Lord and put on the whole armor of God, and then ends with the necessity for prayer:

    Ephesians 6
    10 Finally, my brethren, be strong in the Lord, and in the power of his might.
    11 Put on the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil.
    12 For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places.
    13 Wherefore take unto you the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand.
    14 Stand therefore, having your loins girt about with truth, and having on the breastplate of righteousness;
    15 And your feet shod with the preparation of the gospel of peace;
    16 Above all, taking the shield of faith, wherewith ye shall be able to quench all the fiery darts of the wicked.
    17 And take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God:
    18 Praying always with all prayer and supplication in the Spirit, and watching thereunto with all perseverance and supplication for all saints;
    19 And for me, that utterance may be given unto me, that I may open my mouth boldly, to make known the mystery of the gospel,
    20 For which I am an ambassador in bonds: that therein I may speak boldly, as I ought to speak.

    Verses 19-20 speak of what you’ve spoken of – prayer and the Great Commission.

    Saw you at Levi’s!
    God bless you,
    Maria

    • Thank you for the encouraging scripture passage Maria, that was very apt. Yes, we need to put on the whole armour of God to stand against the world and the devil, and prayer is a vital part of that.

      I’ve been following Levi’s blog for some months now, he’s been a great blessing to me.

Comments are closed.