Is the Prosperity Gospel Biblical?

Today a fellow believer told me he had come across some new teachings that he wanted to share with me. In a nutshell, what he described sounded a little odd. He claimed the Bible teaches that believers in Christ can have their prayers answerered by God in the way they desire if they only have enough faith. We are meant to be blessed materially as well as spiritually. If we just have enough faith we can be healed of any diseases we may be suffering from as well as inherit copious material blessings. I sincerely hope I’m not misrepresenting what my friend said as it was late in the afternoon and I was a little tired.

Before posting a link to an article I found shedding more light on this issue, I’d like to talk about faith. The faith I’ve always been moved by in life has involved people – such as my grandparents – trusting God even when the chips were down. My grandfather wrote a little note to my grandmother, when she was suffering from cancer, that he could see her growing in kindness and compassion each day. He had faith (and so did she) that God was continuing to hold them up even through a time of darkness and pain. We were never promised abundant material blessings in this life. Our Saviour said the opposite:

These things I have spoken unto you, that in me ye might have peace. In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world.
(John 16:33)

Now a brief passage from the article I found before I put up the link:

Teachers of the prosperity gospel encourage their followers to pray, and even demand, of God “everything from modes of transportation (cars, vans, trucks, even two-seat planes), [to] homes, furniture, and large bank accounts.”5 By closely examining the faulty theology and errant biblical interpretation of the teachers of this movement, this study will prove that the prosperity gospel teachings regarding the acquisition and accumulation of wealth are ethically incorrect.

“Theology is important,” wrote scholar Millard J. Erickson, “because correct doctrinal beliefs are essential to the relationship between the believer and God.”

For more on this, kindly see:
https://bible.org/article/bankruptcy-prosperity-gospel-exercise-biblical-and-theological-ethics

Leave a Reply

