What to do when grace departs

I thought I’d write a brief posting on how the Lord Jesus has lead me to cope with a recent dry spiritual spell, as this may help and encourage others going through similar things.

Recently I had a situation where I felt dried up and lacking in faith, it was really quite difficult to push through. Then the Lord brought the following scripture passages to mind, quietly, while I was reading the Bible. He reminded me that steeping myself in the Word of God and prayer is essential – not optional – for maintaining a strong spiritual life. Faith grows from this:

Romans 10:17
So then faith cometh by hearing, and hearing by the word of God.

John 15:7-8
If ye abide in me, and my words abide in you, ye shall ask what ye will, and it shall be done unto you. Herein is my Father glorified, that ye bear much fruit; so shall ye be my disciples.

John 6:35
And Jesus said unto them, I am the bread of life: he that cometh to me shall never hunger; and he that believeth on me shall never thirst.

John 6:63
It is the spirit that quickeneth; the flesh profiteth nothing: the words that I speak unto you, they are spirit, and they are life.

I hope the above has brought as much strength and comfort to you as it did me. If you ever feel weak in faith, or lacking in spiritual strength, just reflect on the above passages then turn to intense meditation and prayer upon the Word of God. You will grow by the milk of the Word. As it is written:

1 Peter 2:2
As newborn babes, desire the sincere milk of the word, that ye may grow thereby

Leave a Reply

