The joy of the Lord Jesus

Nehemiah 8:10
Then he said unto them, Go your way, eat the fat, and drink the sweet, and send portions unto them for whom nothing is prepared: for this day is holy unto our Lord: neither be ye sorry; for the joy of the Lord is your strength.

2 Corinthians 3:18
But we all, with open face beholding as in a glass the glory of the Lord, are changed into the same image from glory to glory, even as by the Spirit of the Lord.

What is the joy of the Lord? I thought I’d share some examples from my own life, that I’ve taken from my blessings journal, that have made me happy in the Lord.

1. I am, from my heart and soul, completely happy cooking and cleaning for my husband (ie. being a “help meet” as per Genesis 2:18). I have never regretted for an instant resigning from my job, which I did in obedience to the Spirit of God’s commandments in scriptures such as 1 Timothy 5:14:

I will therefore that the younger women marry, bear children, guide the house, give none occasion to the adversary to speak reproachfully.

Since making meals for people and helping my husband, I have been praised by him and others for “cooking up a storm” and being hospitable. After nearly 23 years of sloth and letting others do all the work house-wise, I have discovered the joy of giving from a genuine heart. As it is written:

Acts 20:35
…remember the words of the Lord Jesus, how he said, It is more blessed to give than to receive.

1 Peter 3:13
And who is he that will harm you, if ye be followers of that which is good?

2. Since I started following Christ, I have been given many opportunities to give alms and serve others. The Lord is doing a good work in my heart because it is learning to put God and others (genuinely) before self.

3. The Lord Jesus has given me grace in many people’s eyes as I seek to serve Him, so that they have treated me kindly and with mercy. For example, I went to a beads shop recently to make a beaded necklace in honour of God. The shop owner was very impatient with her bank on the phone but was patient and considerate with me. She helped me pick out beads and said I could come and make beads in her shop if I liked (as I am new to making such things).

The above are just three quick examples to give you encouragement and hope in your walk with Christ. We all need lifting up at times, as life can be a tricky business. As it is written:

Psalm 23:4
Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me.

My hope at the end of this life is to stand before the Judgement Seat of Christ and to hear Him say:

“…Well done, thou good and faithful servant: thou hast been faithful over a few things, I will make thee ruler over many things: enter thou into the joy of thy lord” (Matthew 25:21)

One thought on “The joy of the Lord Jesus

  1. Pingback: How to overcome the world | Lighting the Lamp

Leave a Reply

