The Word, A Lamp Unto My Feet

Below is John Dulleck’s uplifting and helpful article on my favourite line from Psalm 119, line 105 (this is very possibly my favourite line in the Holy Scriptures & is in fact the byline beneath my blog’s title):

http://mylordisjesus.wordpress.com/2012/09/14/the-word-a-lamp-unto-my-feet/

Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path. – Psalm 119:105 (ESV)

Here is the article in its entirety, the wisdom here was too helpful and insightful not to share:

Such a beautiful verse! God’s Word, His written Word, our Bible is a lamp unto our feet. And not just His written Word, but the Word that was with God from the beginning, our Lord Jesus.

I see from this verse that the Word has two purposes. It lights our path, constantly showing us what is ahead so that we may not stray from His way of righteousness. But it is up to us to stay on the path, and not veer off to the right or left, into the shadows and darkness that leads away from the way of our Lord.

His Word is also a lamp for our feet. The image here is interesting, and different from the overall lighting of our path. With a lamp constantly at our feet, we are able to see the next step we are to take, maybe even the next two, but the lamp does not light our way so that we can see the next five or ten steps we will be taking. No, the lamp is at our feet, lighting only the immediate way before us.

And the lamp that lights our way and lights our path is The Word of God. If we are not reading the Word, the Light will fade, and we will quickly find ourselves stumbling around in darkness. We could even think of His Word as oil for our lamps. The more oil we have, or the more we immerse ourselves in His Word, the more brightly our lamp will burn, and the more clearly we will discern the way that The Lord has made for us.


My notes:

All I would add to the above is that the Holy Spirit enlivens God’s Word so we have to be reading it with the appropriate mindset (ie. seeing His Words with humble, trusting eyes of faith), for this to happen for us.

The Spirit also reminded me of Jesus’ parable about the wise and foolish virgins while I was reading the article above:

Matthew 25:1-13

King James Version (KJV)

1 Then shall the kingdom of heaven be likened unto ten virgins, which took their lamps, and went forth to meet the bridegroom.

2 And five of them were wise, and five were foolish.

3 They that were foolish took their lamps, and took no oil with them:

4 But the wise took oil in their vessels with their lamps.

5 While the bridegroom tarried, they all slumbered and slept.

6 And at midnight there was a cry made, Behold, the bridegroom cometh; go ye out to meet him.

7 Then all those virgins arose, and trimmed their lamps.

8 And the foolish said unto the wise, Give us of your oil; for our lamps are gone out.

9 But the wise answered, saying, Not so; lest there be not enough for us and you: but go ye rather to them that sell, and buy for yourselves.

10 And while they went to buy, the bridegroom came; and they that were ready went in with him to the marriage: and the door was shut.

11 Afterward came also the other virgins, saying, Lord, Lord, open to us.

12 But he answered and said, Verily I say unto you, I know you not.

13 Watch therefore, for ye know neither the day nor the hour wherein the Son of man cometh.

I’ve long been haunted by the foolish virgins parable and secretly very afraid of finding myself in their sorry position at the end of time when Jesus returns.

Yet this article has given me great faith and hope and for that I thank John from the bottom of my heart. I believe if we read God’s Word with the eyes of true faith, so the Holy Spirit can work through it and impress our hearts with His messsages, we will see our way through spiritual darkness into the glorious light of Christ’s Kingdom.

One thought on “The Word, A Lamp Unto My Feet

  1. This is one of the things I most love about blogging. I do my best to be faithful to The Lord when I write and that the blog comes from Him, and not from me.

    It is when I read comments like yours above that I know that His Light has shown through my humble attempts at writing.

    May He always bless you!

    In Christ,
    John

Leave a Reply

