Brothers in Arms by Dire Straits

I believe that walking in the Spirit is preparatory to coming to Christ. You must at least believe there is a spiritual realm that has pre-eminence over the physical one in order to even embark on the long rugged road that leads to the Lord’s waiting arms.

Below is a song I listened to repeatedly recently before I found Christ. I’ve included it here, with short notes on how it relates to the Gospel of Christ, as others may find this interesting or helpful. If you’d like to message me with your own notes on what helped lead you to the Lord Jesus Christ during your lifetime, please feel free to do so.

BROTHERS IN ARMS by Dire Straits

These mist covered mountains
Are a home now for me
But my home is the lowlands
And always will be

Some day you’ll return to
Your valleys and your farms
And you’ll no longer burn
To be brothers in arms

Through these fields of destruction
Baptisms of fire
I’ve witnessed your suffering
As the battles raged higher

And though we were hurt so bad
In the fear and alarm
You did not desert me
My brothers in arms

There’s so many different worlds
So many different suns
And we have just one world
But we live in different ones

Now the sun’s gone to hell
And the moon’s riding high
Let me bid you farewell
Every man has to die

But it’s written in the starlight
And every line in your palm
We’re fools to make war
On our brothers in arms

The second verse of this song reminds me of the promise God’s Spirit made to us through Isaiah 2:4:

And he shall judge among the nations, and shall rebuke many people: and they shall beat their swords into plowshares, and their spears into pruninghooks: nation shall not lift up sword against nation, neither shall they learn war any more.

The final verse recalls Christ’s pronouncement in Matthew 5:9, during his sermon on the mount:

Blessed are the peacemakers: for they shall be called the children of God.

The fact that the songwriter says the final verse is “written in the starlight” and “every line in your palm” also points to the eternal spiritual truths behind it. Now God has opened heaven’s doors to all people on earth, not just his chosen nation of Israel, thereby writing his commandments (such as Christ’s above) on the fleshy tables of our hearts once we follow Him in faith:

Ezekiel 36:26
A new heart also will I give you, and a new spirit will I put within you: and I will take away the stony heart out of your flesh, and I will give you an heart of flesh.

Hebrews 8:10
For this is the covenant that I will make with the house of Israel after those days, saith the Lord; I will put my laws into their mind, and write them in their hearts: and I will be to them a God, and they shall be to me a people

2 Corinthians 3:3
Forasmuch as ye are manifestly declared to be the epistle of Christ ministered by us, written not with ink, but with the Spirit of the living God; not in tables of stone, but in fleshy tables of the heart.

Leave a Reply

